Progress Update: #38 Walk the Clarendon Way

Back in June I admitted that slightly foolishly I had entered the Clarendon Marathon, and would be training all over the summer.  I’m pleased to report that the training has continued according to schedule and there are now just two weeks until the actual Marathon.  This time, in just fourteen days, I should be thinking about getting an early night ready for an early start and the prospect of 26.2 miles.

I stated my intention to train at 15 minute miles in the hope that I can achieve 18 minute miles on the day, and I’m really pleased that I have been able to sustain that speed as my distances have increased.  Last weekend I did my longest walk yet – 20 miles – in 4 hours 57 minutes.  It was a relatively flat route (although I have been building hills into my training), but I’m pretty pleased with that and hoping the adrenalin and the atmosphere on the day will carry me up and over the hills without significant adverse impact on my timing!  This was the longest walk I will do before the day as all the advice is not to walk the full distance beforehand.

Since I started on 20th April I have done training walks on 97 days and have covered 526 miles in total.  Some interesting locations have featured in my training, with walks in locations as diverse as Masham (North Yorkshire), Center Parcs Sherwood Forest, the grounds of Blenheim Palace, Lulworth Cove, Chesil Beach, and even around the promenade deck of the Oriana!  I’ve walked sections of the South Downs Way and the St Swithun’s Way and I’ve also done a good line in walking out to a great pub, meeting friends or family for some food then getting them to give me a lift back home.  It’s been a lovely opportunity to explore the Hampshire countryside.

Training Schedule!

Training Schedule!

My training schedule (now somewhat dogeared from spending the last few months on the fridge door) shows a lot of ticks.  In fact, there are now just 9 walking days left before the marathon and only 41 miles to be covered over those days as I’m officially now on what is known as the ‘taper’, giving my body some rest and recovery before tackling the marathon.  I also have some carb loading to be done to which end I’ve been trying out new recipes with ingredients like lentils, which I’ve never cooked with before.  More on this to follow via the 48 recipe challenge!

Not only will walking the marathon enable me to achieve the goal of walking the Clarendon Way, but I’m also hoping that it will take me a significant way towards achieving challenge #23 – Raise £1000 for charity.  So far, I have sponsorship of over £550 for Wessex Heartbeat.  It’s great to know that I’m helping such a good cause.  My JustGiving page is:

http://www.justgiving.com/ChelseawalkstheClarendonMarathon

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

