#1 – 48 Recipe Challenge – Recipe 10: Chorizo and Red Wine Risotto

This month’s recipe has neither new ingredients nor uses a method I’ve not used before, but it is a new recipe that I’ve not previously cooked so it counts.  This one was all about using ingredients up – one Friday evening I raided the fridge after work and found some chorizo near to its date, some red pepper which was going wrinkly and some red wine which had been open far too long.  A quick google and I found a recipe for Chorizo in Red Wine which sounded good enough on its own but then, even better, the recipe it suggested turning it into a risotto.  Proper comfort food for a cold January evening.  I set about it with enthusiasm.

Chorizo and Red Wine Risotto

Chorizo and Red Wine Risotto

This was the end result, a plate of extremely tasty stodgy yumminess.  Nice and brightly coloured too to liven up a dull January day.  The recipe came from a very funny blog called Domestic Sluttery and gave me a chuckle or too whilst I was browsing through it.  I recommend checking it out:  http://www.domesticsluttery.com/

Before I get distracted, back to my cooking.  As usual, here’s the scores:

Healthiness – 5/10 (There’s a bit of your five a day in there but it’s basically stodge and fat which is probably why it tastes so good)

Ease of Preparation – 8/10 (Chop it all up, chuck it in a pan, stir.  The only marginally challenging bit is firstly putting the ingredients in in the right order and then adding the liquid gradually and keeping on stirring but if you follow the recipe it just takes time)

Flavour/taste – 10/10 (So many of my favourite things in one dish.  Heaven)

This one definitely makes the grade to keep its place in my recipes folder.  If you want to give it a go, here’s the link:
http://www.domesticsluttery.com/2012/10/sluttishly-savoury-chorizo-in-red-wine.html

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

