#1 – 48 Recipe Challenge – Recipe 23: American Blueberry Pancakes

Given that we’ve just had Shrove Tuesday, this month’s recipe simply had to be pancakes of some sort.  I’ve been trying to remember if I’ve ever made traditional pancakes and I don’t think I have as I’m not a huge fan of them (crepes on the other hand…).  But, I do like the occasional treat of American pancakes when I’m eating out for breakfast so I thought I’d give Blueberry Pancakes a go.

The recipe is similar to a traditional pancake recipe: flour, eggs, milk – except that as these are the thick fluffy pancakes they also need a raising agent so you add baking powder as well and use self-raising flour instead of plain.  Melted butter is also added, which I assume makes them richer.

They were simple to make – sift together the flour, salt and baking powder, make a well and add the egg and milk beaten together.  Then stir in the melted butter and finally the blueberries.  I chose to cook the pancakes in butter rather than oil for flavour, so it was simply a case of melting the butter and ladling the mixture into the pan.  They cook quickly.  The only thing is I could do with a slightly larger saucepan as it was a bit of a squeeze in there!

I served them with a drizzle of maple syrup and extra blueberries scattered on top.

American Blueberry Pancakes with maple syrup

American Blueberry Pancakes with maple syrup

They were seriously yummy.  Thick, almost cake like in texture, and the cooked blueberries were oozy and utterly delicious.  A very special breakfast.

The one egg batter produces enough mix for about 10 pancakes and three I felt ought to be sufficient (although I could happily have stuffed myself with more) so I’ve frozen the rest of the batter for another day.  That’s a treat-in-waiting which will require very little effort one morning.  Always nice to have those little gems in the freezer.

Scores are:

Healthiness – 5/10 (not especially healthy but not necessarily unhealthy either.  The calorie value of each pancake was not much more than a slice of bread, and they do contain fruit after all!)

Ease of prep – 7/10 (Quick to prepare and great that there’s batter left over for freezing, but they did generate a fair bit of washing up!)

Flavour/taste – 10/10 (I just don’t see how you could improve these)

This is a keeper, I’ll be making these again.  If you fancy giving them a go too, here’s the recipe I used:

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4915/american-blueberry-pancakes

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

